Trend Feature: Alluring Conservatism

We often fall into the trap of thinking that we need to turn to skin-show to look sexy. Don’t get me wrong, a skin-fit Herve Ledger bandage dress has an appeal of its own but, I have often realised that when I go to a party or dinner dressed modestly, I get more attention from the opposite sex. Maybe its the fact that I’m less intimidating when something is left to the imagination or maybe its just more rare to see someone conservatively dressed these days. Either way, I am welcoming with open arms, the introduction of midi skirts on international runways! The spring 2014 set of shows has introduced midi skirts in various structures, fabrics, and styles. Let me introduce some of the popular types and what body type and occasion they would suit:

The Structured Midi:

This style is my personal favourite because it compliments my small waist and hides my relatively heavy hips. For myself, I would probably team is with a tight black singlet with a metallic belt for a night out. This skirt would also be perfect for the corporate girls, matched with a buttoned up black or white shirt. A blouse might make it a tad dressy; although if your planning to head out after work, why not! For a more casual do, team a structured skirt with flats and a light plain cotton top!

Image

Calla Spring 2014 Ready-to-Wear Collection

The Pencil Midi:

Although definitely not from a ready-to-wear collection, the Marchesa pencil midi below is absolutely breathtaking. The gold and pastel combination is something I probably havn’t tried yet but next time I pull out one of my pretty pink or baby blue numbers, I will give my gold statement neckpiece a whirl, instead of a simple silver necklace!

Coming back to the pencil midi; this is perfect for girls who are more apple or hour-glass shaped. It accentuates shapely hips and highlights tiny ones! This style again can be worn to work or a night out. However, I would probably leave this one at home for a less formal occasion. I love how Burberry has stepped up the quirk on the runway by pairing polka dots with stripes, but unless you have an out-there personality, lets leave it to the runway!

ImageImage

 

Marchesa Spring 2014 and Burberry Prorsum Spring 2014

The Cascading Midi:

This style is one of my favourites as it suits most body types as well as occasions. It covers up any tummy troubles as well as smooting over hips. Extremely comfortable to wear, these skirts are usually made from silks, chiffons or georgettes for that lovely flowing effect.

I personally love the look with a cropped top for those who have a toned mid-section. But if not, a lose, slinky blouse will also look ultra glamorous! In my opinion, heels always enhance any outfit but if comfort is a priority (which it can be at most times), a stylish pair of loafers or sparkly flats will do the trick.

ImageImage

Street-style at NYFW Spring 2014 and Proenza Schouler Spring 2014

Comfort and style can most definitely go hand-in-hand.

Leave a Reply

