Special Feature: Golden Globes Fashion 2014

Film award season and fashion go hand-in-hand and the 2014 Golden Globes gave us a chance to see Hollywood’s finest (and not-so) on the red carpet. With opinions on the couture of the women of Hollywood saturating fashion portals worldwide, it seems only fitting that I share my thoughts too.

Overall, I thought this year, the styling was more good than bad. I set out to find my five best and worst looks, however I ended with ten of my favourite and only five that I questioned. Red-on-red chameleon seemed to be a prominent look this season, evident in both the best and worst-dressed categories. Ill-fitting gowns also landed some of the actresses in the ‘worst’ pile.

Designers with Lebanese- heritage were the pick of the crop as the most featured included the likes of Elie Saab, Zuhair Murad, Rani Zakhem and Georges Hobeika.

The Best:

Image

Kate Beckinsale in Zuhair Murad (http://globalfashionfiend.com/2013/12/08/brand-feature-zuhair-murad/)

Image

Michelle Dockery in Oscar de la Renta

Image

Cate Blanchett in Armani (I love this look)

Image

Olivia Wilde in Gucci (Her baby bump seems to accessorise this dress perfectly)

Image

Zooey Deschanel in Oscar de la Renta (It’s hard to fault an Oscar creation)

Image

Lupita Nyong in Ralph Lauren (Another one of my absolute favourites)

Image

Amy Adams in Valentino (These two got the chameleon look right)

Image

Zoe Saldana in Prabal Gurung (the quirk is genius on the designers part)

Image

Kaley Cuoco in Rani Zakhem

Image

Maria Menounos in Max Azria Atelier

The Worst: 

Image

Edie Falco (I refuse to add the designers to created these as they are some of my favourites; every human’s allowed a mistake once in a while right?)

Image

Julia Roberts

Image

Jessica Lange

Image

Berenice Bejo

Image

Joanna Newsom

So there’s my round-up on the Best and Worst on the red carpet at the Golden Globes 2014. With more award shows around the corner globally, this isn’t the last of such lists!

Be Inspired.

Leave a Reply

